Copland, Aaron, 1900-1990.

The selected correspondence of Aaron Copland [electronic resource] / edited by Elizabeth B. Crist and Wayne Shirley. - Yale University Press, c2006. - 1 online resource (xv, 269 p.) : ill.

Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

Brooklyn and Paris, 1909-24 -- The world of modern music, 1924-31 -- The depression years, 1932-37 -- Musical triumphs, 1937-42 -- During and after the war, 1942-48 -- The post-war decade, 1948-58 -- 1958 and beyond.

This is the first book devoted to the correspondence of composer Aaron Copland, covering his life from age eight to eighty-seven. The chronologically arranged collection includes letters to many significant figures in American twentieth-century music as well as Copland's friends, family, teachers, and colleagues. Selected for readability, interest, and the light they cast upon the composer's thoughts and career, the letters are carefully annotated and each published in its entirety. Copland was a gifted and natural letter writer who revealed much more about himself in his letters than in formal writings in which he was conscious of his position as spokesman for modern music. The collected letters offer insights into his music, personality, and ideas, along with fascinating glimpses into the lives of such other well-known musicians as Leonard Bernstein, Carlos Chavez, William Schuman, and Virgil Thomson.

9780300133479 (electronic bk.) 0300133472 (electronic bk.) 9780300111217 (alk. paper) 0300111215 (alk. paper) 128172291X 9781281722911


Copland, Aaron, 1900-1990 --Correspondence.
Copland, Aaron, 1900-1990.

Composers--United States--Correspondence.
MUSIC--Individual Composer & Musician.
Composers--United States.

მუსიკა-- კომპოზიტორები

Electronic books.

ML410.C756 / A4 2006eb

780/.92 B


ეროვნული სამეცნიერო ბიბლიოთეკა 2010 - 2019

გაუგზავნე შეკითხვა ან მოთხოვნა ბიბლიოთეკას